Ulster Cyclo-Cross


Ulster XC Series


All Ireland CX 2017


Ulster Cyclo-Cross - Information on Races

For full details of the races use the menu on the left hand side.

A guide to the format of the Ulster race programme is as follows.  See individual rounds for more details.


Start Time
09:00 Sign on opens
10:00 Under 6 fun race
Under 8
10:30 Under 10
Under 12
Prize giving #1 (U8s, U10s and U12s)
Official practice until 11:35
11:45 Under 16 boys
11:46 Under 14 boys
11:47 Cyclo-cross women & MTB support (women) & U16 girls & U14 girls
Prize giving #2 (U14s, U16s, Women)
Cyclo-cross A' race (men)
Cyclo-cross B' race (men)
14:17 MTB support race (men) - maximum 25 riders
Prize giving #3 (Men)

NOTE: As per the 2016 season there will be two cyclo-cross races for males, the A' race and the B' race.  
The A' race will have the usual categories, Senior males, Junior males, Espoir (U23) males, M40 males, M50 males.

The B' race is the "fun race".  It is for males only and is aimed at novices/beginners and those riders who would finish over 2 laps or more behind the winners of the A' race.
There will be minor prizes for the top 3 men.
To ensure that the B' race remains for this group, any rider who finishes in the top 3 of a B' race cannot enter another B' race for the rest of the series!  
Therefore, for all rounds, all podium riders in the B' race will automatically be upgraded to the A' race.
(Riders who rode in the A' race last season can take part in the B' race this season if they feel their form is not where it was last year)

Parents NOTE: - The Under 6s race is just for fun.  It is an introduction to off-road racing.  There are no winners, no podium, no medals.  It is all about the achievement of starting and finishing. If you child can complete the course with ease and is ready for the next challenge please have them try the Under 8s race instead. There is no lower age limit on the Under 8s race.

TEAM PRIZE - For 2017/18 we are introducing a Team Prize for the Cyclo-cross A' race (men).  Teams are made up of at least 3 riders from the same club.  The first 3 man team to finish wins a small cash prize i.e. when the 3rd rider in that team crosses the line.  Teams can be made up of riders who are Juniors, Espoir, M40 or M50.


For the cyclo-cross season the following rule has been amended for 2014 onwards

"1. Irrespective of the category designated on a riders licence, for the Cyclo Cross season riders shall compete in the category they would be allocated from 1st January in the following year."

Which means that a rider who turned or is turning 16 in 2018 will need to ride as a junior for the 2017/2018 cyclo-cross season.

Seniors - those born 1999 or earlier
Juniors - those born 2000 or 2001
Under 16s - those born 2002 or 2003
Under 14s - those born 2004 or 2005
Under 12s - those born 2006 or 2007
Under 10s - those born 2008 or 2009
Under 8s - those born 2010, 2011 etc

A full list of age categories can be found here.

Round 1 will not be gridded.
After Round 1 the races will be gridded based on results which will be compiled into a series table.  
Riders will not be gridded if they have not pre-registered.